Bloggers Get Creative to Make Cash

January 16, 2008 at 12:47 am 4 comments

I talked with several publishers making so much from their blog that they left their day jobs. One such blogger – Rhett Butler, founder of Mongabay.com – makes $15,000 to $18,000 a month on his site about rainforest conservation. Such success usually comes from experimenting with ad-revenue models, advertised products and ad positions. It can take several months to find the best model for a particular site.

Of course, drawing big ad money depends more on having a blog with lots of interesting and unique content that draws lots of readers, showing up high in search-engine results for your topic and having ads that pique your readers’ interest. The vast majority of blogs make dimes, not dollars, a day, according to ProBlogger.net.

While the programs are expanding, some bloggers are coming up with their own ways to make money. For instance, Roger Fredericks, a golf pro who sells DVDs teaching golfers flexibility exercises, used to spend $10,000 to $25,000 a pop airing infomercials on the Golf Channel. When the network raised its rates last year, he decided to focus on making money on his Web site.

http://blogs.wsj.com/independentstreet/2008/01/15/bloggers-get-creative-to-make-dough/

Entry filed under: Internet Startup.

From 10 Hours a Week, $10 Million a Year Top 20 websites run by people under 30

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shukree Abuwi  |  February 13, 2008 at 5:26 am

    I just started my blog. Very useful site!

    Reply
  • 2. clizaccita  |  February 17, 2008 at 12:59 am

    Let me achieve It. and I hardened over to assert the britney spear upskirt pic from under the mattress.

    Reply
  • 3. Investblogger  |  March 2, 2008 at 8:42 am

    Dear Sirs,
    My name is Thomas Garcia and I am new to this forum. I wasn’t sure where to make this post, and I apologize in advance, if I posted inappropriately,
    please advise.
    Few months ago, I stumbled upon information about
    investment funds, that are not readily available to the public. The profit percent, which participants could
    receive by joining in such funds, appeared
    shockingly high at
    first, but as I searched more about them, I could not pass on the opportunity. Guess what, today, I consider
    myself to become the successful
    player. My next step, is marketing field, so, I
    set up the blog, which
    provides detailed information
    about current investment funds. To see it, click here.
    I would would be glad to receive
    your comments.

    Reply
  • 4. investment4fun  |  February 11, 2009 at 6:13 am

    glad to hear from fellow investors check my site on investment oportunities and way to make money i now invest full time at home makeing way more money than i ever make working for someone else. call us or email for consultation on investment opportunites that make you money

    globemedia232hotmail.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Biz News

My Name is Bisi and this is my blog This blog features stories that I have read that I think are interesting . I usually bookmark the stories that I find interesting but they are getting too many . I have decided to catalog and share them on this site . I am not really promoting the site so you might have accidentally stumbled on it . Thanks for visiting .
January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 164,311 hits

Feeds


