MetroNaps Lets Customers Nap for a fee

October 4, 2006 at 10:50 pm Leave a comment

The idea for MetroNaps hit founder Arshad Chowdhury while he was working long hours at a New York investment bank. “I saw a lot of my colleagues falling asleep at their desks or sneaking off to the bathroom to sleep,” he says. “My instinct was that people obviously weren’t sleeping enough.” By 2001 he’d escaped to Carnegie Mellon’s MBA program, where he toiled for two years on a napping business plan. The first MetroNaps, a six-podder in the Empire State Building, opened in 2004.

But that hasn’t stopped wannabe Gordon Gekkos from forking over $65 for monthly memberships. “After lunch, I would fight the sleep for a few hours,” says bank examiner Jose Stevenson, describing his pre-MetroNaps routine. Now he’s a member and follows up a working lunch with a 20-minute snooze two or three times a week. “Once my body became accustomed to it, I got addicted,” he says. “Now I feel awake and refreshed in the afternoon, like I do at 9 a.m.”

See Full Article http://money.cnn.com/magazines/business2/business2_archive/2006/10/01/8387112/

Entry filed under: Internet Startup.

This Guy Makes Motion Activated Lawn Sprinklers Automated Product Placement is the next big thing in Advertising.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Biz News

My Name is Bisi and this is my blog This blog features stories that I have read that I think are interesting . I usually bookmark the stories that I find interesting but they are getting too many . I have decided to catalog and share them on this site . I am not really promoting the site so you might have accidentally stumbled on it . Thanks for visiting .
October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 164,311 hits

Feeds


